Boards & Commissions

One of the municipal responsibilities of the Council is to appoint individuals to various boards and commissions in vital sectors of city administration.  Below is a list of the bodies to which the Council appoints members. 5th District Councilwoman Linda Barnes-Caldwell is chair of the Boards & Commissions Committee.



Gary Community School Board – The five-member board oversees the operations of the school district. The school board plays a pivotal role in shaping the direction of the school district, ensuring that it operates effectively, efficiently, and in the best interest of the students of Gary. 


Dr. Vanessa Allen McCloud is the Gary Common Council appointee to the School Board.


Board of Zoning Appeals – Commonly referred to as the BZA, this board plays a key role in the administration and interpretation of zoning regulations within the city. 


Kevin Brown is the Council appointee to the Board of Zoning Appeals. 


Fire Civil Service Commission – The Gary Fire Civil Service Commission oversees the Fire Department’s hiring, promotional, and disciplinary processes. The Fire Commission is a six (6) member board created by City Ordinance authorized by State law.


Bishop Norman J. Hairston II and Charles Smith Sr. are the Council appointees to the Fire Civil Service Commission


Library Board – The Library Board is responsible for overseeing the operations, policies, and financial management of the Gary Public Library.

Dr. Lucille D. Washington is the Council appointee for the Library Board of Trustees


Police Civil Service Commission – The overarching goal of the Gary Police Civil Service Commission is to ensure that sworn members of the Gary Police Department are at all times held to the highest of standards to ensure that the citizens of Gary are at all times provided with a safe, secure, and healthful environment.

Oliver Gilliam and Charles W. Jackson, Jr. are the Council appointees to the Police Civil Service Commission


Redevelopment Commission – Under Indiana State Law, the Redevelopment Commission is the official body that approves redevelopment policy, awards bids, pays contractors, and administers tax increment financing (TIF).

Adam Hall and LaJuan Clemons, Sr. are the Council appointees to the Redevelopment Commission


Transportation Board – The Board of Directors develops policies regarding the operation, contracts, safety, financing, organization, and structure of the Gary Public Transportation Corporation.

Anthony Manuel, Antoine Gaffin, Sr., Brenda Scott-Henry, and Sharon Levels are the Council appointees to the Transportation Board.


Advisory Commission Status of Black Males – The mission of the Gary Commission on the Social Status of Black Males (GCSSBM) is to study the social conditions of the city’s Black male population, develop strategies to remedy or assist in remedying serious adversities and make recommendations to improve the educational, social, economic, employment and other circumstances for Gary. The Commission serves policymakers and public interest groups, as well as the media, community organizations, and members of the general public.